33 academics said, their names should also be removed from the books

Wrote a letter to NCERT Director Saklani
New Delhi. Yogendra Yadav and Suhas Palshikar recently demanded removal of their names from the National Council of Educational Research and Training (NCERT) Political Science textbooks. Subsequently, 33 academicians who were part of the Textbook Development Committee (TDC) have also requested to remove their names from the books.
A letter has been written in the name of NCERT director Dinesh Prasad Saklani. The educationist was a member of the Textbook Development Committee in 2006-07. In the letter written on Wednesday, he said, several amendments have been made in the original syllabus, due to which they have become separate books. It is difficult for us to claim that these are the books that we produced. We don't want to associate our names with them.
he wrote a letter
Among those who wrote the letter is Kanti Prasad Bajpai, a former JNU professor who is currently serving as Vice Dean at the National University of Singapore. Apart from these, former Vice-Chancellor of Ashoka University Pratap Bhanu Mehta, former CSDS director Rajeev Bhargava, former JNU professor Neeraj Gopal Jayal, JNU professor Nivedita Menon, Common Cause chief Vipul Mudgal, former Hyderabad University professor KC Suri are among those who wrote the letter. and Peter Ronald D'Souza, former director of the Indian Institute of Advanced Study.
He said, 'NCERT is now making changes in the textbooks. These include deletion of sentences and removal of some chapters. Whatever decisions have been taken regarding this, its process has been kept opaque.
Responding to Yogendra Yadav's letter, the NCERT had issued a public statement on June 9. It said that textbook development committees ceased to exist after the books were published. The copyright of the educational material has since been vested with the NCERT, which is independent of the committee.